T10Tues: Best books I read in 2015

Thanks to the wonderful ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish welcome to this week’s Top Ten Tuesdays (T10Tues)!

This year was pretty scanty in the reading department and to be honest? It really is a disappointment for me. But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t read some humdingers in their own right during the year.

Midsummer’s Nightmare by Kody Keplinger I wasn’t really sure what I was getting into when I picked up this book from the library. But I ended up laughing, crying, and wanting to throw the book across the room. In the end? It was amazing.

An Ordinary Decent Criminal by Michael Van Rooy I had this book in my bookshelf for so long after buying it probably two years ago. When I started reading I was instantly sucked into the pages. It was amazing reading a book set in my hometown that could send chills up my spine, gooseflesh across my arms, and have me laughing on the bus all the way to university and back.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman I think this was one of the only books that I read for my Reader’s Advisory course during class. I remember there being a pretty much fifty-fifty split in my class on who really enjoyed the book and those who really didn’t like the book. I fell in love with the story and it reminded me of Stardust (also by Neil Gaiman).

A Brew to a Kill by Cleo Coyle This was my first foray into the world of cozy mysteries and just like the coffee that was served in the book, I’m addicted! I am looking forward to reading more.

Possession by Kat Richardson I won’t lie and say that the cover didn’t reminded me of a Dresden Files but it did. Which is good! In my humble opinion Kat Richardson is one of my female Jim Butchers. Her writing in Possession really sent me reeling, especially when plunging into the grey, and I felt book drunk after finishing. Perfect.

Dark Currents by Jacqueline Carey It was awesome being able to find Dark Currents, the first book of the series, at the library. I finished this book in a day and couldn’t wait to jump feet first into the next one! There were so many awesome details that made the world so real, everything from keeping to the lore to the diversity of characters, that had me falling in love.

Sword Art Online Volume 1 (Light Novel) by Reki Kawahara Originally I watched the first episode of SAO on netflix but then I was given the first book and holy man…I was reminded why I love stories that are set in videogames. I NEED to get my hands on the next book in the series!

Project Cain by Geoffrey Girard Chills, thrills, bioengineering, and a broken oh-my-fucking-gosh meter. I was recommended this by one of my friends early in the year and to be honest? It didn’t sound like something that I would actually read. Then I found it in a bargin section of a bookstore…read the back…and instantly fell in love.

Skin by Ted Dekker Can I just say since I found this book in my highschool library in 2009 I’ve probably read it once a year? You’d think I would have my own copy by now…

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card I spent two evenings reading, staying up well into the night, this purely because I know someone who has the dvd and I really want to watch it (haven’t watched it yet though, but maybe now that I am on Christmas break..)

What do you think? What was your T10 Books of the Year? Were any of the books I put on my list on yours?

Bre

 

(All book covers are from their respective goodreads page)

Leave a Reply

