{{WWW Wednesday}}

{Brought to you by the awesome Sam from Taking on a World of Words}

1. What are you currently reading?

This is going to be a shorter list. I mean it only has three books on it right now that I am really trying to finish.

The Fire Within

This is actually a recomendation, sort of, that boyfriend gave to me. He knows I own the third book, no idea how that happened, and have been wanting to read the first book for a while.

As far as I am concerned, with how much I have read, I can see this as a nice middle years read. I would have loved to have read this when I was younger after I read Dragon Rider (Cornelia Funke). Maybe a future idea would be putting together a list of books that I would have read as a younger Bre…

The Orenda

A lovely friend from the rowing club gave me her copy to borrow! I am so excited. This has been one of the books that I have wanted to read for a while but because of a long library wait…you get the idea.

I have heard a number of good things about The Orenda (Joseph Boyden). It comes at a time when issues are being raised here in Canada that involve how the government, and citizens I would venture to say, have treated the Aboriginal people on what is rightfully their land.

I am Number Four

*bashes head against brick wall*

I am struggling, people, with this book. I should have taken heed of all the low ratings it got on Goodreads but of course not. I want to say that this is probably the first book that I have truly wanted to put down and never pick up again.

Besides…everything about it, honestly I am not a fan of the whole “super mode” trope. Ask any of my friends and they will tell you that I am not a “super” anything fan. I dislike superhero films (except Deadpool. Deadpool was amazing), comics, and just about everything that they seem to appear in. I like comics though. Just not the superhero ones.

But this jumble of words…it feels like some kind of…I want to say fucked up a originally brilliant idea that has happened too many times (resulting in its current incarnation of fucked upness what the hell am I reading) since its predesessors.

I can guarentee this will get a very low rating from me. It may end up on my list of books (quite frankly, that is very small) othat I will never pick up again and finish. I bet you guys I’ll give up on it tomorrow.

2. What have you finished reading?

Oh My God. I am always so confused on why I never read more of Cleo Coyle’s work. The writing style never gets old and honestly? I never saw the plot twist coming at the end. There were moment when I could feel goosebumps because of each new lead or twist that happened.

And the ending! *swoon*

Espresso Shot

3. What will you read next?

Maybe I should get through my stack of to read first?

Pft. One of the books that I would like to read next, and will have to soon, is Outlaw (Ted Dekker).

Outlaw

I managed to snag the new copy, our only copy, at my church library where I volunteer after service this past Sunday before my friend (who wasn’t amused when I came running by him, wagging my tongue, and saying loudly, “Na na na na I got it first!”). The kicker is the copy? It has not been put in the cataloguing system yet. He he. Sucks for him.

Anyways. I am so excited to read this Dekker book! I know I have to catch up on a lot of his writing (and a few that I own) from the library but…I will. The cover is really what caught my eye, THEN the title, and then realized it was a Dekker book…well I couldn’t help myself. Its going to be dark. Its going to be twisted. Its going to send shivers and goosebumps along my skin. Yes.

Offworld

This caught my attention because it had the same creepy sensations that come across me when I pick up a Stephen King novel or Ted Dekker. It was actually Ted Dekker who came to mind as this may be an author like him. Again, another book from my church library.

What are your W’s for the week?

4 thoughts on “{{WWW Wednesday}}

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    Haha! I do that too: look at the stack of to reads and think, “yeah, I should read some of those next” and then I go to the library and see new book and think, “Ooo! Shiny shiny books. I’ll just read those”. And so the pile continues to grow… 🙂

    I saw the film of I Am Number Four (on TV, while doing other things, thank goodness) and thought it was just bland and mediocre. It doesn’t do anything new, so I can imagine the book isn’t much fun either.

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/04/06/www-wednesday-6th-april-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • forgottenpumpkinpie says:

      Boyfriend said the same thing about the movie when I threw the book (nearly missing him in the head) on Monday. I don’t think I will be watching the movie.
      Recently I’ve only being getting books from the library or borrowing them from friends and OH MY GOD SHINY BOOKS! It honestly doesn’t help when I am at the library and I see the stack of books that are waiting for their cataloguing dates.
      I’ll check out your WWW in a second!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

