T10Tues: Books that caught my Whimsey

Today’s T10Tues is brought to you  by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish who want to know some of the books that we bought on a whim!


Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck: The tiger looks so fluffy! Those eyes! I felt like it was just calling me from the shelf.
Splintered by A.G. Howard: I can’t really put my finger on why I bought this book honestly.
City of Bones by Cassandra Clare: I distinctly remember texting Pomegranate about finding this book on the shelf and saying that I wouldn’t be able to buy it…then as I was walking to my bus stop she told me to buy it. I couldn’t stop texting her about it even though I only had read a few pages!
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: I briefly read about it online and thought, “Damn where has this been all my life?” and immediately hopped on a bus to the mall so I could buy it.
Pantomime by Laura Lam: Browsing through the shelves at Chapters and I stumbled across this breathlessly incredible book. I can’t.
Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff: I’ll be honest that while I didn’t choose this one myself as soon as boyfriend put it in my view it was in my basket and quickly being carried to checkout. I wasn’t about to let it go!
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake: I’ll admit that the cover, not to mention the title, had me caving in to the point where I didn’t even read the back of the book. It doesn’t matter though! I enjoyed every deliciously bloody minute of reading.
Bait by J. Kent Messum: I’m a sucker for click bait and that is how I discovered the blurb online but how I came to get this…I-can’t-even-describe-my-love book? I found it for 25% off at the drugstore while I was there to get a refill. Jaws on herion. I’m serious. READ. IT. Debut book of Mr Messum (who is seriously cool) if you like them!
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor: once again I got sucked in by the cover. But honestly I love this book even though I actually haven’t finished it. It makes me laugh so I am looking forward to finally completing it then continuing the next books.
A Game of Thrones by George R. Martin: Can I just mention that I originally bought my copy, not knowing anything about it at all except I liked the cover and it struck my Lord of the Rings loving nerve, in 2013? I still haven’t finished this dragon of a book. But this year I am making progress. The story of how I bought this book? My friend, who was in grade 12 at the time (myself in first year of university), was willing to come with me as I dragged us on a bus to the nearest Chapters to our highschool during her lunch hour. This book nearly made us miss our bus back!


Can I admit something? Many of these books I bought in a spree about 3 years ago. I had almost $200 in Chapter’s gift cards that I had squirrel(led) away for about 2 years. At the time I was sinking in a large amount of emotional turmoil, only a few people knew, and buying books helped ease my feelings. In the last year my stress has not disappeared but eased up considerably on my itch to buy books continuously so I could disappear into them.

One thought on “T10Tues: Books that caught my Whimsey

Leave a Reply

