T10Tues: Have words and you will travel

Hey everyone! I’d like to apologize for posting this late. But at least I am posting it, right?

This week’s challenge from The Broke and the Bookish is for us to display our top 10 books that have sent us travelling around the world outside the United States. I think this is an awesome list because who else feels a tad disappointed when they open a book and it doesn’t send you to an international destination (at least away from the United States). I know I do.

Run Like Jager by Karen Bass [Germany and a bit of Canada]

The Witness by James Jauncey [Scottish Highlands]

North End Love Songs by Katherena Vermette [Canada]

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery [Canada]

Brother Grimm by Craig Russell [Germany]

The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke [Italy]

Crimson Hero by Mitsuba Takanashi [Japan]

Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson [England and Brazil]

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor [Czech Republic]

The Illegal by Lawrence Hill [Indian Ocean]

Isn’t it surprising how many books there are that take place outside the United States? Have you travelled to any of the places on my list? Do you have any travel recommendations? I realize that I leaned heavily on Canada settings but honestly I feel like Canadian settings and authors aren’t praised enough.

What are your top 10 lists? Comment with them as a link and I’ll hit your blog up and leave a comment 😀

2 thoughts on “T10Tues: Have words and you will travel

Leave a Reply

